WPL 2024 FINAL: Years of wait is over, Bangalore defeated Delhi and won the trophy!

In the final match of Women’s Premier League 2024, Royal Challengers Bangalore won the trophy by defeating Delhi Capitals by 8 wickets.


The Women’s Premier League 2024 Final (WPL 2024 FINAL) match was played between Delhi Capitals Women and Royal Challengers Bangalore Women (DEL-W vs BANG-W) on 17 March 2024 (Sunday) at Arun Jaitley Ground, Delhi.

In which Royal Challengers Bangalore defeated Delhi Capitals by 8 wickets in a thrilling match and won the title of the second season of the Women’s Premier League 2024 and the Indian T20 League after almost 17 years.

Earlier, Delhi Capitals captain Meg Lanning won the toss and decided to bat first. Batting first, Delhi Capitals team was limited to only 113 runs in 18.3 overs and gave a target of 114 runs to Royal Challengers Bangalore to win.

The pair of Alice Perry and Richa Ghosh did wonders again : 

Chasing the target, Royal Challengers Bangalore’s openers made a slow start and decided to move towards the target slowly. Both the openers Captain Smriti Mandhana and Sophie Devine made a partnership of 49 runs in 49 balls for the first wicket.

Bangalore lost its first wicket in the form of Sophie Devine on the score of 49 runs. In which Sophie Devine faced 27 balls and scored 32 runs with the help of five fours and one six, who returned to the pavilion after being LBW on the ball of Shikha Pandey.

Whereas captain Smriti Mandhana, facing 40 balls, scored 31 runs with the help of three sixes, who returned to the pavilion after being caught out by Arundhati Reddy on the ball of Meenu Mani.

Like every time, this time too Alice Perry managed to get Bangalore out of trouble. First, with captain Smriti Mandhana, she made a partnership of 33 runs in 41 balls, then with wicket keeper Richa Ghosh, she made a valuable partnership of 33 runs in 27 balls, making an important contribution in taking the team closer to the target and remained at the crease till the end. While the team did not win.

Ellyse Perry faced 37 balls in the final of the Women’s Premier League 2024 (WPL 2024 FINAL) and scored unbeaten 35 runs with the help of four fours. Whereas wicketkeeper Richa Ghosh, who was supporting her, scored unbeaten 17 runs in 14 balls with the help of two fours and it was Richa who played the winning shot and led the team to victory.

Royal Challengers Bangalore achieved this target by scoring 115 runs for just 2 wickets in 19.3 overs with three balls remaining. With this victory, the title of WPL 2024 was won.

In bowling, Shikha Pandey and Meenu Mani of Delhi Capitals got 1-1 wicket.

Despite a great start, Delhi Capitals’ batting fell apart : 

After winning the toss and coming to bat first, the opening batsmen of Delhi Capitals made a great start. Openers Meg Lanning and Shefali Verma started with a bang and made a partnership of 64 runs in 43 balls for the first wicket.

But after losing the wicket of Shefali Verma as the first wicket, Delhi Capitals’ batting collapsed and Sophie Molineau’s over hat-trick put Delhi’s batting on the backfoot. Delhi lost its three wickets at the score of 64 runs. Lost wickets, which included opener Shefali Verma (44 runs), Jemimah Rodrigues (0 runs) and Alice Capsey (0 runs).

After Sophie Molineau, Delhi Capitals’ batting was further destroyed by Shreyanka Patil, who took 4 valuable wickets for 12 runs in 3.3 overs. Which includes captain Meg Lanning (23 runs), Meenu Mani (5 runs), Arundhati Reddy (10 runs), Tania Bhatia (0 runs).

Apart from these, Asha Sobhana was successful in sending Marijan Cop (8 runs) and Jess Jonassen (3 runs) to the pavilion. While Radha Yadav was run out after scoring 12 runs.

The entire Delhi Capitals team was all out for 113 runs in 18.3 overs and gave Bangalore a target of 114 runs to win, which Bangalore achieved.

Also read : DC-W vs RCB-W Dream 11 Prediction: Know Playing 11, Fantasy Cricket Tips, Pitch & Weather Report for WPL 2024 FINAL!

Player of the Match – DEL-W vs BANG-W

Sophie Moulineau of Royal Challengers Bangalore was chosen player of the match in the final match of Women’s Premier League 2024 (WPL 2024 FINAL). Who took 3 important wickets for 20 runs in 4 overs and played a decisive role in turning the game in favor of his team.

Playing 11 : DEL-W vs BANG-W

Delhi Capitals (DEL-W) :

Meg Lanning (captain), Shafali Verma, Alice Capsey, Jaminah Rodrigues, Tania Bhatia (wicketkeeper), Mary Jane Cope, Arundhati Reddy, Jess Jonassen, Meenu Mani, Radha Yadav, Shikha Pandey.

Royal Challengers Bangalore (BANG-W) :

Smriti Mandhana (captain), Sophie Molineau, Ellyse Perry, Sophie Devine, Sabaneni Meghna, Richa Ghosh (wicketkeeper), Georgia Wareham, Disha Cassatt, Shreyanka Patil, Asha Shobhana, Renuka Thakur Singh.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.